Skip to main content

Gill St. Bernard's Upper School Library: Scientific Literature Review

Books from our collection

These books are a great place to browse or get an overview of a topic.

Use the Destiny link in the box to the right to find other titles in our collection.

Upper School Library Catalog

Genetics and Inherited Conditions eBook

Click the link below to access this Genetics and Inherited Conditions eBook. If you are at home you will need to enter the remote password (see the Home Access box to the right). 

Encyclopedia and General Press

General press or popular media sources such as newspapers, magazines, and books are used for the introduction.

Reference

Gale Virtual Reference Library : An e-book database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for research.

Psychology and Behavioral Health :A comprehensive e-book good for overview information.

Books from our collection. Use Destiny to search or the one's hi-lighted on this page.

General Press Sources : examples of newspapers and magazines 

The New York Times: Available through Proquest. Sign in to Office 365. Go to Publications at the top and search for New York Times. 

Time Magazine: Available through EBSCO Host in Academic Search Premier. Go to Publications at the top and type in Time in the second box. 

Science Publications

These publications report on discoveries in science and technology for a general audience.

General Science

Nature-A weekly, multidisciplinary science journal that can be searched by topic. To access older issues through ProQuest, click here for on-campus. If you are off-campus, login to Office 365 and then click here. Go to the Publications tab and type Nature. 

American Scientist-Part of ProQuest. If you are accessing off-campus, sign in to Office 365 and then click here. Go to the Publications tab at the top and type American Scientist. 

Popular Science-Part of ProQuest. If you are accessing off-campus, sign in to Office 365 and then click here. Go to the Publications tab at the top and type Popular Science.

Science and Engineering Ethics-Part of ProQuest. If you are accessing off-campus, sign in to Office 365 and then click here. Go to the Publications tab at the top and type Science and Engineering Ethics.

Scientific American-Go to EBSCOhost web: Academic Search Premier. Click on Publications then type Scientific American.

Scientific American Mind-Go to EBSCOhost web: Academic Search Premier. Click on Publications then type Scientific American Mind.

Science News-Go to EBSCOhost web: Academic Search Premier. Click on Publications then type Science News.

Psychology

Psychology Today-Part of ProQuest. If you are accessing off-campus, sign in to Office 365 and then click here. Go to the Publications tab at the top and type Psychology Today.

Science Mag Online Subscription

Science Mag Online: Search for articles on campus in Science, Science Advances, Science Translational Medicine, Science Immunity, and Science Signaling. Click Log In at the top and it should auto-authenticate you if you are on campus.

Access Science Subscription

Access Science: We just started a new subscription to Access Science. Browse for science articles by topic and click on the links for science term definitions. Please log in to Office 365.

Peer-Reviewed Scientific Journals by Subject

Scientific studies published in peer-reviewed journals are used for the body of the scientific literature review.

The journals listed below are a sampling of journals available through the databases. 

If you are accessing off-campus, sign in to Office 365 and then click here. Go to the Publications tab at the top and type in the name of one of the publications below. 

Agriculture

Agriculture and Human Values

Biological Science

Animal: an International Journal of Animal Bioscience

Journal of Clinical Epidemiology

Medical Journals and Terminology

Canadian Medical Association Journal

New England Journal of Medicine

Online Medical Terminology Course

Sports Medicine 

Journal of Sports Medicine and Physical Fitness

Asian Journal of Sports Medicine 

Journal of Science and Medicine in Sport

Genetics

Genetics

Genetics Research

Behavior Genetics 

Journal of Genetics

Cytogenetic and Genome Research

Psychology

Academic Psychiatry 

Adolescent and Family Health 

Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Mental Health

Intellectual, Developmental, and Learning Disabilities 

American Journal on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities

Advances in Mental Health and Intellectual Disabilities 

Journal of Learning Disabilities 

Recommended Databases for both General Press and Peer-Reviewed articles

Proquest (on campus) 

Proquest (off campus): Full-text and abstracts of 8,000 periodicals and journals.  Good for both general press and peer-review articles.

eLibrary (on campus)

eLibrary (off campus): The Research Topics are very helpful. Good for general press articles.

EBSCO: A family of databases. Good for both general press and peer-reviewed articles.

Academic Search Premier  : Part of EBSCO. A good source for peer-reviewed articles.

Librarian

Kristen Armstong's picture
Kristen Armstong
Contact:
908-234-1611 x277

Noodle Tools Citations

Use your school email for Noodle Tools. If you signed up from school with IP recognition it will auto authenticate you.

With Noodle Tools you can:

  • cite and evaluate sources
  • organize and outline notes
  • create APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian bibliographies

The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)

A link to guides for MLA, APA, and Chicago styles of citations.

Need Home Access?

  • Questions? Email Ms. Mueller at tmueller@gsbschool.org