http://worldbookonline.comDATABASES A to Z
Access Science: Browse for science articles by topic and click on the links for science term definitions.
Digital Public Library of America-This is a free, online library with collections of America's libraries, museums, and archives.
EBSCOHost: A family of 24 databases of scholarly and popular press articles, many in full text. Academic Search Premier (part of EBSCOHost Web) is a good source of peer-reviewed articles. Literary Reference Center is a good source for literary criticism, author biographies, and plot summaries. Other databases are more specific in nature.
eLibrary: Full text database with access to newspapers, magazines, books, picture, maps, and transcripts of TV and radio broadcasts.
FactCite: Reference source for middle grades from The Lincoln Library. Free preview until 5/31/20. Login with gsbschool and student.
Facts on File: A family of databases that includes science, history, multi-cultural, geography, health, and literature. World Geography and Culture Online is a good source for reproducible maps. Bloom's Literature is a collection of critical essays from literary journals and scholarly and critical books.
Gale in Context-Global Issues: Explore global issues in law, government, health, science and technology, society and culture. If prompted, password is open.
Gale in Context-Science: Covers biology, chemistry, physics, earth and environmental science. Includes full-text articles, experiments, and simulations. Updated daily. If prompted, password is open.
Gale Health and Wellness: A database with full-text medical journals, reference works, magazines, and multimedia. If prompted, password is open.
Gale Literary Sources: Search multiple Gale literature sources, including Literature Resource Center and literature titles in Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Gale Multiple Database Interface: Search all of the Gale databases that we subscribe to, including Gale Virtual Reference Library, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, Literary Resources, Student Resources in Context, and Literature Resource Center.
Gale Virtual Reference Library: An e-book database of over 600 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. The collection can be searched by discipline, title, or the entire collection.
Great Events from History: A concise summary of important events in history, including the significance of the event and a list of ‘further reading’. It is an electronic version of the series of reference books with the same title.
Image Quest: A database with over 2 million images from some of the best, specialized collections in the world. All images are rights-cleared for educational use.
JSTOR: A full text database of over 2,000 scholarly journals in the arts, sciences, humanities, and social sciences. The content goes back to the start of each journal but may not include current issues.
Learn360: A streaming multimedia resource for grades K-12.
Literature Resource Center: A database that includes bibliographical information, overviews, full-text criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, across time and around the world.
NoveList: A database of reading recommendations for K-adult readers.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context: A full-text database covering today’s social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed series Opposing Viewpoints and other Gale imprints, it features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspaper articles.
Points of View Reference Center: Part of EBSCOHost. This database contains 343 topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis.
Proquest Central K12: Full-text and abstracts for over 8,000 periodical and journals on nearly every subject. Full text of The New York Times (1851-present) and other newspapers are included.
Psychology and Behavioral Health: Comprehensive database coving notable theories, people, social issues, life stages, the physiology and anatomy of the nervous system and various mental illnesses or conditions. It is an electronic version of the series of reference books by the same title.
Salem History: Electronic versions of several reference book sets. The sets are: Defining Documents in American History, Great Events from History, Innovators, Milestone Documents, and Musicians and Composers. They are searchable across all volumes or individually.
Salem Science: Electronic versions of several reference book sets. The sets are: Computer Technology Innovators, Earth Science: Earth Materials and Resources, Earth Science: Earth’s Weather, Water, and Atmosphere, Environmental Issues, and Encyclopedia of Global Resources. They are searchable across all volumes or individually.
Student Resources in Context: A database with contextual information on a broad range of topics. It merges reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites. It can be searched by topic or keyword.
World Almanac for Kids: Reference content for intermediate level students. Topics include art, biography, science, math, social studies, and language arts.
World Book Encyclopedia: This is the online version of the World Book Encyclopedia. GSB subscribes to many editions: Kids, Student, Advanced, Timelines and Spanish. Updated regularly.