Skip to main content

Gill St. Bernard's Upper School Library: Distance Learning Resources

Description

This guide has citation tools, distance learning and search tips, reading links, and library information. Check out our General Research, Databases and Reading pages for more information.

Library Help for Distance Learning

Image result for microsoft teams logo

If you'd like to ask the librarians a research question, we'll be available to chat in Teams from 12-1 pm and 3-4 pm. Using the chat feature, just type a new message to Ms. Armstrong (kmarmstrong) and Ms. Mueller (tmueller). We're here to help!

Or feel free to email us:

Noodle Tools Citations

Use your school email for Noodle Tools. If you signed up from school with IP recognition it will auto authenticate you. If you haven't signed up, we can create an account for you.

Click here to sign into NoodleTools.

With Noodle Tools you can:

  • cite and evaluate sources
  • organize and outline notes
  • create APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian bibliographies
  • collaborate on the project with teachers and students

Using NoodleTools

Sign into NoodleTools, create a New Project and select your citation style (MLA, APA, Chicago). Choose Advanced to get the most options.  When you click New Source, you'll be asked: Where is It? and What is It? 

Where is it? Is it found in a database, website, or is it in print? 

What is it? Common choices are book, journal, newspaper, magazine, and webpage. You may have used ProQuest Central K-12 database (where) to find a newspaper article (what) from New York Times.

Fill in the fields for the publication, article title, author, pub date, access date, and additional info from the citation. Check citations, especially if they were copied and pasted from the Cite button. When in doubt, ask us!

NoodleTools tutorials

Database Search

Search through our databases and catalog in a single search! To access databases from home, login to Office 365. Type your keywords in the box below or choose a database from our Databases page.

Research databases
Limit Your Results

Upper School Library Catalog

Searching Databases

Search databases? - RIT Libraries: How Do I....? - InfoGuides at ...

1. Choose a database that relates to your topic. If you are searching for a Maya Angelou poem, you could start with Gale Literary Sources.  

2. Keywords-brainstorm different words for your search. A database looks for keywords anywhere in the record. If you don’t get the results you want, you may have to look for synonyms or related terms.   

Use OR to broaden your search or use AND to narrow your search. 

If you are looking for an article about climate change and animal adaptations, you may have to substitute global warming for climate change. Animal adaptations AND (global warming OR climate change).  

The disease ALS may be under Lou Gehrig’s disease or you may have to type out Amyotropic Lateral Sclerosis. You can use OR in the search.  

Destiny Catalog note-keywords may have to be broader if the title or description doesn’t contain those exact words. If you are looking for info on Sikhism, you may need to search for a book on World Religions. Look for Sikhism in the index or table of contents.  

3. Select full text to view the whole article

4. Date range-limits the date if you need a source from a current or specific time period. 

5. Peer reviewed-check this option for scholarly articles

6. Read the abstract-this gives you an idea of what the article is about.

7. Get the citation and Permalink so you can get back to the article later. A Permalink will let you retrieve the source even when the session times out.  

 

 

Citation Help

Distance Learning Tips

Distance learning platform | Online learning features

Tips for online classes: 

  • Organize your schedule with a calendar app or planner. 
  • Choose a good study space that’s as free from distractions as possible. 
  • Have a set time to work and keep your routine 
  • Pace yourself with assignments. Set reminders for due dates in your calendar app.   
  • Ask questions early if there is something that you do not understand. 
  • Test out the technology before using it in class. 
  • Practice Internet safety. 

Reading Links

Apps & Features: K-12 Schools – Apps – OverDrive Resource Center

Sora App

Sora is the new reading app for students. It has a collection of eBooks and audiobooks that you can read from your laptop, tablet, or phone. Login to Office 365 first and then click here to sign into Sora. Choose Gill St. Bernard’s School from the drop-down menu on the desktop version. On the mobile app, search for Gill. If you need help, see these Sora instructions

 

Local Public Libraries

Your library has so many online resources - ebooks, audiobooks, and more, all available for free! You can even sign up for an online library card if you don’t have one!!

Somerset County Public Library

Morris County Public Library

Reading Publishers’ Books Online

Many publishers (Simon and Schuster, HarperCollins, Penguin Random house and more) have given temporary permission for teachers to record themselves reading books to share with their students. 

Here is the list of publishers.

 

Databases