LibGuides: Gill St. Bernard's Upper School Library: American Studies Research Assignment

Library Resources

RESOURCES FOR 10^th GRADE RESEARCH PAPERS

The library provides access to a number of different kinds of resources. Some types of sources will be better depending on your topic.

If you have chosen a person, a great way to start is to read a short biography (1-2 pgs), either on a database or in a book. This allows you to get a sense of who, when and maybe why the person created what they did.

If you need assistance finding sources, the librarians are available to help.The list of databases is below.

Databases for this project

Use the databases to find information about your topic. Some database will be better for your topic that others. Try more than one. If you need assistance the librarians are available to help.

EBSCO Discovery Service
Search our databases with one search. Click on Advanced Search and type in your keyword(s). After you click Search, there are more resources on the right side of the page. You can access this on campus.
Literary Reference Center (part of EBSCO)
Similar to the above database but uses different sources.
Bloom's Literary Reference Online (part of Facts on File)
Harold Bloom's and other author's literary criticism, overviews, and analyses.
Gale Literary Sources
Biographical information, criticism, works overviews, and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Electronic versions of many reference books. Includes the Encyclopedia of World Biography and many literature reference titles.
Proquest (on campus)
Proquest (off campus)
Searches over 8,000 periodicals, NYTimes, and other newspapers.
EBSCOhost
A family of 24 databases of scholarly and popular press articles, many in full text. Click on EBSCOhost Web. Academic Search Premier is a good source for peer-reviewed articles.
eLibrary (on campus)
eLibrary (off campus)
Searches magazines, newspapers, books, and TV and radio transcripts.
Great Events from History
A concise summary of important events in history, including the significance of the event.
JSTOR
Provides access to over 1000 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Image Quest
A database with over 2 million images from some of the best, specialized collections in the world. All images are rights-cleared for educational use.

Need Home Access?

Click here for URLs, usernames, and passwords to databases

You can login through Office 365 to access databases off campus or click the link above for the remote access credentials.
Questions? Email Ms. Mueller at tmueller@gsbschool.org

Upper School Library Catalog

Accessit Catalog
Find books, e-books, videos, and other materials in the library collection. If you want to put books on hold, please sign in with Office 365.

Noodle Tools Citations

Use your school email for Noodle Tools. If you signed up from school with IP recognition it will auto authenticate you.

With Noodle Tools you can:

cite and evaluate sources
organize and outline notes
create APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian bibliographies

Click here to sign into Noodle Tools

The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)

Click here for Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) citation resources

A link to guides for MLA, APA, and Chicago styles of citations.

Librarian

Tracey Mueller

Email Me